Reflections and Resolutions for 2017

At long last 2016 is behind us. For me it began the same as any other year, sprinkled with nice treats to get me by. Whether that was review opportunities, or just hanging out with friends, it was going okay. After the highlight of my year, which was taking a road trip to Oregon in May, things started to go downhill from there. On July 1 I, and my other colleagues, were informed Examiner was shutting down out of the blue. I was hired in August 2011 so it came as a big shock, putting a kink in my normal routine. It took a long time to recover and I still feel the ramifications. It’s hard to rewire your brain after five years.

 

Not wanting to loose all my progress from Examiner, I set up this site, Game Jurk, to archive content with the resolution to focus on my YouTube Channel, ReActionExaminer, for the time being. I also found work, though volunteer, at a UK site called GameSpew. I’m grateful for the opportunity, but it was difficult to adjust for myriad of reasons including the time difference and relearning a new writing style. On the plus side I have an editor for once, which is something every great writer needs. I fairly admit I may not be the best at, but I write from the heart and for the genuine love of the game industry. Mushy stuff aside GameSpew wasn’t my only new adventure.

 

I joined two other websites…that also shut down on me totaling my kill count to three in 2016. My bad to PlusMana and Pookybox, two sites that I saw a lot of promise in. Not only that, but as one last stroke of f**k you to Tristan, 2016 took my grandfather away on December 14, also seemingly out of the blue. Suffice it to say I suffered some heavy losses last year, but I’m resilient. I want to make 2017 my best year yet for ReActionExaminer, Game Jurk, GameSpew, and wherever else I may put up content. I write this now as a reminder to myself to not slack off. This promise is also to you, my viewers, and in memorial to my grandfather. Peace Papa Gergie.

 

Lastly I want to recall the things that helped me through my darker times in 2016 and share my thanks. First of all to my closest friends Brian, Erik, Holly, Jesse, Lauren, Matt, and Shay who helped me with my work in one way or another. Next a big thanks to my best friend and TMOTSP co-host, Matilda, for going above and beyond the call. My trips to visit you in Duluth were some of the best times I had all year and I couldn’t have gotten through my grandpa’s funeral without you. Many thanks and more to you, again to all my friends, and to my loving family.

 

Lastly a long list of thanks to the developers and PR companies who gave me review codes. Every code I receive is an honor no matter how much I like, or dislike the game. Thank you to everyone involved with the following games: Alienation, Arslan: The Warriors of Legend, Atelier Escha and Logy Plus: Alchemists of the Dusk Sea, Atelier Sophie: The Alchemist of the Mysterious Book, Attack on Titan, Azure Striker Gunvolt 2, Banner Saga 2, Chase: Cold Case Investigations Distant Memories, DOGOS, Duke Nukem 3D 20th Anniversary World Tour, Exile’s End, Full Mojo Rampage, Grand Kingdom, Hard Reset, Headlander, Jotun, KOI, Mario and Luigi: Paper Jam, Mighty No. 9, Nights of Azure, Ninja Usagimaru: The Mysterious Karakuri Castle, Nobunaga’s Ambition: Sphere of Influence Ascension, Oceanhorn: Monster of Uncharted Seas, Octocopter: Super Sub Squid Escape, Odin Sphere Leifthrasir, Radiantflux: Hyperfractal, Ray Gigant, Riptide GP Renegade, Romance of the Three Kingdoms XIII, Samurai Warriors 4 Empires, Senran Kagura Shinovi Versus, Shantae and the Pirate’s Curse, Shantae: Risky’s Revenge, Stories: The Path of Destinies, Shu, Sky Force Anniversary, Stranger of Sword City, Super Dungeon Bros, The Deadly Tower of Monsters, The Witch and the Hundred Knight Revival Edition, Twisted Fusion, Valkyria Chronicles Remastered, and Warhammer: The End Times Vermintide.

 

Thank you, thank you, and thank you. Now here’s to 2017!

 

One thought on “Reflections and Resolutions for 2017

Leave a Reply

